• Welcome to MacSailing.net!
  • Dedicated to sailing!
  • Be Jolly!
Hello There, Guest! Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Title: MaxSea and Parallels
Hi There,
I have seen several postings on this subject but they are a bit old.

I have been running MazSea for over 5 years on a Windows XP machine without serious issues. I have also been running it on an Intel Mac under Boot Camp for almost as long with no issues.

I have just installed parallels and have a problem. MaxSea will not open the charts. It cant find them. It searches and searches then hangs up.

I have it configured exactly the same way as on my old Windows machine and on the Boot Camp side of this intel Mac but under parallels it just searches and searches and finally hangs.

Ideas anyone?
Ed

Hi Ed,

If you get tired of Parallels... It works great using VMWare Fusion.

I wonder if you or anyone else could give some of the benefits of Fusion vs Parallels. I'm new to both and trying to figure out which one to use.

I have never tried Parallels, but having read about other users problems I elected to go with Fusion. It works great with MaxSea 10. I have Raymarine on my boat and use a Keyspan serial to usb to interface the two. In order for MaxSea to work, it only see's serial ports 1 and 2... I use a product called GPSGate to access the required serial port.

The Raymarine data is also available to MacENC.

I successfully ran MaxSea 10.x in Parallels, but could not get the CMap charts to work. MaxSea would not recognize the CMap charts. I spoke with Jeppesen and they said they would not work in that construct. I sold MaxSea and the charts.

Sounds like I should have tried Fusion.

Too bad. Great program, MaxSea.

Yes MaxSea is a great program. I too had trouble with it under Parallels. It DOES however work under Fusion.

Honestly, Parallels is a smoother running program with few quirks but it will not run MaxSea.
Fusion will run it but it is a bit clunky by comparrisson.