• Welcome to MacSailing.net!
  • Dedicated to sailing!
  • Be Jolly!
Hello There, Guest! Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Title: Navionics & Mac
Hello,

I am extremely new to charts and marine electronics. I have searched this site and the internet and contacted Navionics and have yet to find an answer. I'm hoping someone here can lead me in the right direction.

Last week I purchased my first chartplotter (lowrance HDS) and a Navionics Hotmaps Premium card to go with it. I own nothing but Mac computers and was wondering how to print the maps off the card I bought. I read the warning and am not putting the card in a card reader. I don't want to make a back-up, just want to print a few maps so I can pre-plan my fishing trips!!!

how do I do it?

Thanks so much for any advice or tips!!

I am also trying to find how to use my MacBook Pro on the boat, linked to Raymarine GPS/Sonar/Autopilot and the rest.
I have been to find clear answers online so far.
Paolo

Surprised you haven't had a response yet. I can't speak directly on your Navionics charts but I'm assuming the setup is similar to Cmap, where you need a special card reader to use them on a PC. Unfortunately there are not Mac drivers for these external card readers so the only way to use them is by running windows on the Mac, either with Bootcamp, Fusion, or Parallels.

As for using your Mac with the Raymarine stuff, an easy way is through a Shipmodule multiplexor, which can read the Raymarine seatalk and convert it to NMEA. The multiplexor connects to your Mac either via Bluetooth, USB, or Serial depending on the model. I have the Bluetooth version on my boat with Raymarine instruments and it works quite well. If you use Serial be sure to use a Keystone serial/usb device as most others seem to have problems on the Mac.

Good luck!
Scot